1. Knowledge & Support
  2. System Administration

Licenses and Connections Dialog

This dialog can be used by Administrators to see current License information and to sever existing Connections to the APS.net Service.

Connections are used by the APS Clients, the APS Scheduling Agent, the APS Interface, and any external programs to communicate with the APS Service.  The number of simultaneous connections is limited by the number of user Licenses installed.

Licenses

For each type of License, you can see:

  • Total Purchased: This is the maximum number of Connections that can be created concurrently for Users who login with this type of Scenario Access.  Once the maximum is reached, additional logins are not permitted.   (Note that additional licenses can be purchased and easily installed at any time by contacting support@PlanetTogether.com).
  • Nbr In Use: This is the number of Connections that are currently in session where the User logged in with a particular type of license.  This number cannot exceed the Total Purchased.
  • Nbr Available: This indicates how many additional Connections can be created with the specified License type.  If this value is zero it will be shown in RED to indicate that all of the Licenses of this type are in use and future logins of this type will fail.

Connections

This grid lists all of the active Connections.

  • Connection Nbr: This is a unique identifier for the Connection.  The Connection Number can also be seen in the status bar of APS.net Clients so that you know which Connection is being used by a particular instance of a Client.
  • Connection Type: There are two types of Connections: Client and Interface/Scheduling Agent/External.  The Client is for APS.net Clients.  The other type is used by the APS.net Interface, the APS.net Scheduling Agent, and all external programs such as custom interfaces.  There is a separate Timeout for each of these Connection Types as specified in the in the System Options dialog under the Connections tab.
  • User: This is the Name of the User that logged in using the Connection.
  • License: This is the type of License being used by the Connection.  It is determined based upon the Scenario Access of the User that is logged in.
  • Admin: This indicates if the User is an Administrator.
  • Computer Name: This indicates the actual "Computer Name" as specified in the client computer's Windows System Settings.  The purpose of this setting is to help determine which physical computer created the Connection.
  • Last Login: This is the date/time that the Connection was used to login.  Note that the date/time is shown in the local date of the computer viewing this dialog (not the Client computer that made the connection.).
  • Last Contact: Each Connection automatically makes contact with the APS.net Service at an interval specified in the APS.net <>.exe.config file of the program that created the Connection.  If the PT Service stops receiving these contacts then the Connection will be Auto-Disconnected (see below).  This value is not updated in real time due to the fact that it would create excessive network traffic.  Therefore, you can click the Refresh Last Contact Column button at any time to refresh this value.  Note that the date/time is shown in the local date of the computer viewing this dialog (not the Client computer that made the connection.).
  • Last Contact Updated: This indicates the last time that the Last Contact column was updated to show the current value.  (see above under Last Contact).  This gives you an idea of how "stale" the Last Contact value is.

Auto-Disconnecting

The APS.net Service will automatically disconnect any Connection that does not contact the PT Service within a user-defined frequency.  The purpose of this is to release Connections and Licenses for "dead connections" -- that is Connections that for some reason have stopped responding.  This can occur if a Client process is terminated, if there is a network problem, etc.  You can set these timeout values in the System Options dialog under the Connections tab.

Disconnect Selected Connections

This command can be used by Administrators to forcibly sever existing Connections.  This is primarily designed for cases where a program that was connected to PT Service shutdown unexpectedly and did not logout.  Disconnecting it will immediately free up the License that the Connection is using.  If a Connection is Disconnected while a program (a PT Client, etc.) is still running then that program will experience an error the next time it tries to communicate with the PT Service.  If the program is a APS.net Client then no data will be lost other than any user preferences that were modified in the client session.  Once Disconnected, the Client will have to login again to re-connect.