Scenarios

Key Concepts

In PlanetTogether, Scenarios contain all the data for the factory model including plants, departments, resources, items, inventories, operations, and financial information. The data found in the system can either be entered manually or imported from an ERP system.

There are four types of scenarios in PlanetTogether: Live, What-If, Short-Term, and Published. In addition, different user types can be set to see and/or interact with the different types of scenarios.

Scenario Options

Scenarios can be found at the top left section of the screen. Each type of scenario will appear as a different colored tab when they are copied:

  • Live Scenario: By default, each instance of PlanetTogether has a Live scenario which is the current set of data the scheduler is working with. In most cases, the Live scenario has not been released to the shop floor and is used to make changes and see how the schedule is coming together before being published. Live scenarios have an unlimited Undo/Redo function which allows users to see the effects of changes on the schedule. However, it is recommended to create What-If scenarios to test out changes rather than trying out those changes in the Live scenario to prevent causing confusion if multiple users are viewing or working within PT at the same time. 

Note: There can only be one Live Scenario at a time.


  • What-If Scenario: The What-If Scenario is a direct copy of the Live scenario. This type of scenario is used to test changes in production and determine the effect of those changes on the capacity plan, inventory plan, and impact analysis if they were pursued.
    • What-If scenarios are useful to simulate the following:
      • Changing optimize rules
      • Changing release rules
      • Adding overtime capacity
      • Adding additional jobs
      • Adding resources
      • Scheduling maintenance 

Note: What-If scenarios are watermarked with "What-If" so the scheduler can keep track of which scenario they are working with.


  • Short-Term Scenario: The Short-Term scenarios are a complete copy of the Live scenario at the moment of creation that only includes data found in the short-term period. This type of scenario can be used in the same way as What-If scenarios to test changes in production within the short-term span. An added benefit of this type of scenario is that the size of the dataset to be copied is reduced as only the short-term span is automatically copied from the live data. All jobs found after the set short-term are deleted. 

Note: The length of the Short-Term span can be configured in Settings | System Options. The short-term value starts calculating from the scheduling clock which means that the short-term span will change when the clock is advanced. 

Short-Term scenarios are also watermarked with "Short-Term" so the scheduler can keep track of which scenario they are working with:


  • Published Scenario: The Published scenario is a snapshot of the Live scenario that is created to display the Gantt on the shop floor for users that can view the published scenario. Published scenarios appear as a purple tab at the top of the screen. 

Note: Published Scenarios are watermarked with "Published Scenario" so the scheduler can keep track of which scenario they are working in:

Comparing and Converting Scenarios

PlanetTogether can support any number of What-If scenarios and allows comparison across a number of Key Performance Indicators. This way, planners and schedulers can compare things like the number of late deliveries, increases in operating or inventory costs, daily revenue, daily units produced, etc. to decide which proposed scenario should be put into effect. Clicking on the "Compare" tab of the Current Scenario drop-down menu will open a dialog displaying a bar graph and a grid comparing each scenario based on Key Performance Indicators (KPIs).

Once a decision has been made, a What-If scenario can be converted into the Live scenario by clicking "Convert to LIVE" from the Current Scenario drop-down menu. Converting a What-If scenario to the Live scenario converts the original Live scenario into a What-If. 

                                     

Deleting a Scenario

Scenarios can be deleted by clicking on "Delete Scenario" from the Current Scenario drop-down menu of the scenario you want to delete. 

                                     

Note: Deleting a scenario cannot be undone without loading from a backup. 

Clear Scenario Data

The Clear Scenarios Tab allows users to choose which data they would like to clear from a scenario. In the Settings | Scenario Data | Clear Scenario Data tab, select which objects you would like to delete from the scenario, then click the "Delete All Checked Objects" button.