User Settings

Key Concepts

PlanetTogether is meant to provide a collaborative experience between multiple levels and departments within a business by supporting various user types. User-specific settings allow each user to interact with, format, and control PlanetTogether in a way that they need to. There are a number of user settings that are maintained to streamline the collaborative efforts of multiple users in the system. 

Note: a user can be logged into multiple concurrent sessions at the same time. This will occupy a separate license for each concurrent login. 

A list of all users and their specified settings and permissions can be found in the Settings | Users tab:

Toolbar

  • Open: Opens the user settings dialog where user properties, permissions, and preferences can be defined. 
  • New: Creates a new user with default settings. 
  • Copy: Adds a new user copying the settings from the user currently marked in the list.
  • Delete: Deletes the user marked in the list. Note: Deleted users will be permanently removed from the system. Users can be marked as "inactive" in the user settings dialog which will prevent login but will keep the user information in the system.
  • Clear: Deletes all users in the list except for the last administrator. Note: There must always be at least one administrator or else there would be no way to edit the user list. 

Note: User data can be imported to create new users. When importing new values, existing users will not be modified. The relevant import mappings can be found here

User Settings

The User Settings dialog can be accessed by double-clicking on a user or by selecting a user and clicking the "Open" button. Alternatively, the dialog can be opened by selecting "User Settings" from the user's drop-down menu found at the upper-right corner of the main screen. 

                                                 

Properties

The Properties tab is where a user's Username and Password are set.

         

  • Active: Users can be set to active or inactive using this checkbox. Users with the active box unchecked will not be able to log into the software.
  • Require Password Reset at next login: If checked, users will be prompted to reset their password at the next login.
  • Compression Type: The compression type can assist with scenario loading times when initially logging into the software if dealing with larger scenario file sizes and slower network speeds. Note: The default is Fast compression. For most connections, this setting should be left at Fast for optimal performance. However, users on slow network connections may see improved login speed and reduced action delay when using Normal or High settings. 
    • None: The scenario will not be compressed at all when transmitting to the client.
    • Normal: Standard scenario compression is used.
    • Fast: Less compression is used which will take less time to compress but may make loading times longer is the scenario is larger. 
    • High: More compression is used which may take a few seconds longer to load but will reduce the overall loading times. 

Permissions

The Permissions tab is where you can set a user's level of access. You can choose from a list of preset Templates or you can use the User Permissions section to assign custom permissions.

         

  • Templates: Templates allows to quickly set user settings and permissions by choosing a preset. Individual settings can still be modified.
    • System Administrator: This user has complete control of scenarios and system configuration. Administrator privileges can be given to any user and will allow that user to manage the list of users and the permissions those users have when working within PlanetTogether.
    • Master Scheduler: This user has full access to all scenarios and may import and publish scenario data. They can make changes to the Live scenario and can create and modify any number of What-If scenarios. They also have full control of the system which allows them to undo any actions, lock, anchor, hold, and expedite jobs. 
    • Advanced Scheduler: This user can schedule and maintain data in all scenarios. 
    • Scheduler: This user can schedule in all scenarios.
    • Planner: This user may view all scenarios and schedule in the What-If scenarios.
    • Operations: This user may view the Live scenario and update labor, capacity, and resources. 
    • Customer Service: This user may view the Live scenario and run CTP (Capable to Promise).
    • Shop Floor: This user may view the Live scenario and update the operation status.
    • View All: This user may view all scenarios but cannot modify the schedule or data.
    • View Live: This user can see the Live schedule before it is published. This option is generally used by management to see how the schedule is coming together before the schedule goes live. At this point, changes can still be suggested because the schedule has not been published.
    • View Published: This user can only view the Published scenario. This option is typically used to display the Gantt on the shop floor. Note: View Published users will see the vast majority of the Navigation Ribbon as grayed out or missing.
    • Current: User permissions are determined by the individual settings defined in the User Permissions tabs. 
  • User Permissions: These tabs allow the administrator to assign custom permissions for Scheduling, Data, Scenarios, System, and Other items. For each option, users can be given either no permission to perform that action, or permission to perform that action in the What-If or Live scenarios. 
                         
  • Plant Permissions: User access to plants can be restricted by selecting a plant permission set. The default is full permissions.

Permission Sets: Each permission set allows configuring specific permissions for each plant that exists in the live scenario. These settings can be applied to a user from the individual user's settings. 

Preferences

  • General
    • Publish on Exit Reminder: This controls whether the user should be reminded when exiting to publish the schedule if it has changed since the last publish. Note: This value does not apply unless the user is a Master Scheduler. 
    • Display Language: The drop-down menu will display the language that PlanetTogether has been translated into. Note: Language is changed on a per-user basis. PlanetTogether must be restarted for the language change to take effect. 
    • Show Other User Action Messages: When checked, PlanetTogether will display a message in the lower right-hand corner of the screen to inform when another user performs an action that changes the schedule or data. This is especially useful when users are working in a multi-user or collaborative environment as it allows all users to be on the same "page" regarding changes made to the schedule. The message displays:
      • A description of the action performed.
      • The user who initiated the action.
      • The name of the scenario the action affected. 
    • Show confirmation when deleting objects: If checked, users will be prompted to confirm whether they want to delete objects in PlanetTogether. 
    • Hide toolbar text: If checked, then command names are hidden in the user interface toolbars. 
  • Show Finished Notifications for: If checked, PlanetTogether will display a system message for actions that are finished.
    • Optimization: A message is shown when optimization is complete, in the user's current scenario.
    • Import: A message is shown when a system-wide import is completed.
    • Publish: A message is shown when a publish is complete, in any scenario. 
  • Optimize
    • Use shared optimize settings: If checked, the user will only be able to use the optimize settings defined for each scenario. This option is preferred when there are multiple planners using the system to ensure that all users are optimizing the same way.
    • Use shared compress settings: If checked, the user will only be able to use the compress settings defined for each scenario rather than personalized compressing settings.
  • Clock Advance
    • Auto Report Progress: If checked, progress will be automatically reported when the clock is advanced.
    • Auto Publish: If checked, the schedule is will published automatically when the clock is advanced. 
  • Move
    • Prepend Setup on Move: If checked, whenever activity blocks found to the left of other blocks are moved, the system will add the setup time before the current start of the activity block to prevent it from being completed later.